Rhydyfoel Council School opened on 5th October 1920 in the vestry of the Salem (Wesleyan) Chapel and the schoolroom was meant to be used as temporary premises. On the first day there were 11 boys and 5 girls but numbers never exceeded the early 20s.
The first head teacher was Alindia Humphries who was succeeded by Elizabeth Williams in September 1921 - a long serving head teacher. At the HMI inspection of 24th March 1924 there were 19 pupils on roll.
On 3rd April 1935 milk was supplied in bottles for the first time to the pupils of the school.
The HMI inspection of 2nd February 1938 was very critical of the school premises - still housed in the chapel schoolroom - but praised the head teacher for doing well under the circumstances (Page 169 of log book).
The school closed, despite the best efforts of those involved to keep it going, on 21st June 1963. There were just 7 pupils on roll.
Salem Methodist (Wesleyan) Chapel, Rhyd-y-Foel, Abergele, Conwy. LL22 8ED
OS Map - 1V SW 1949 Edition Grid Reference SH91237683 marked as Meth Chap
The collection includes: log books; managers minutes; and accounts.
www.welshchapels.org [last accessed 12/05/2016]
www.rhyd-y-foel.co.uk/salem [last accessed 12/05/2016]