Croesnewydd Hospital was originally built as a ward for Wrexham Union c. 1912 (also see GD/C) and also included fever wards. Later this hospital became known as the Wrexham Joint Fever Hospital or Isolation Hospital. During the First World War the Croesnewydd Hospital was used as a military hospital (also see HD/12). After the First World War, the hospital expanded to include a new building known as Plas Maelor, which was built by Denbighshire County Council, and to be used as a residential home for the aged. Once again, the hospital was used as a military hospital during the Second World War becoming known as Wrexham Emergency Hospital.
After the Second World War, Plas Maelor became known as the Maelor General Hospital and care for the elderly moved to Gladwyn Hall in Gresford. The hospital came under the control of the Ministry of Health after the National Health Act of 1948. The Maelor site also accommodated the administrative offices of the Wrexham, Powys and Mawddach Hospital Management Committee (also see HD/14).
The Maelor General Hospital continued to serve Wrexham alongside The War Memorial Hospital until 1986 when The War Memorial closed and the last patients were transferred to the new Ysbyty Maelor.
This collection includes: administrative, patient and staff records.