Ungoed-Thomas and King Collection

Scope and Content

Records and collected documents, 1719-1972, including business records of Ungoed-Thomas and King, Solicitors, 1939-1972, including judicial records, 1953-1972; commercial records, [c. 1943]-1960; clients' affairs, 1878-1964; administration of clients' estates, 1917-1958; case records, 1927-1950; miscellaneous, 1913-1962; plans, [c. 1960-1962]; photographs, [c. 1910]-[c. 1960]; deeds, 1740-1780, relating to land in the parishes of Llangynog, Llangynin, Tre-lech a'r Betws; deeds, 1803-1909, relating to Bwlch and Blaencynnen, Merthyr and Newchurch; documents relating mainly to Castillyrhingill, Llanfihangel Aberbythych, 1791-1893; deeds relating to Garregwen, Llanfihangel Aberbythych, 1818-1908; deeds relating to Dinas Mill, Tre-lech a'r Betws, 1861-1912; deeds relating to Cwmdwfn Farm, Abergwili, 1865-1882; deeds and documents relating to land in the parish of St. Peters, Carmarthen, 1835-1913; and deeds and documents relating to Llwyn y Barcud, Kidwelly, 1719-1949.

Administrative / Biographical History

Ungoed-Thomas and King, Solicitors, of Quay Street, Carmarthen, were established c. 1878 and continue to offer legal services. The firm accumulated deeds and other papers of many estates and properties in Carmarthenshire. The Popkin family of Llangynog, Carmarthenshire, held land in Llangynin, Llangynog, and Tre-lech a'r Betws, Carmarthenshire, between c. 1740 and 1780. The Benyon family owned Bwlch and Blaencynnen, in the parishes of Merthyr and Newchurch, Carmarthenshire; by 1855, William Edward Bevan Gwyn, of Cwthhir, owned the estate. Castillyrhingill, Llanfihangel Aberbythych, was owned by Griffith Griffies (d. 1791) and passed onto his grandson, Griffith Powell (d. 1847) and his family. Dinas Mill, Tre-lech a'r Betws, was owned by Michael Evans, of Hafodwenog, in 1861; between 1880-1890, the property was held by David Evans; and by 1895, it was owned by Caleb James. Cwmdwfn Farm, Abergwili, Carmarthenshire, was held by the Morgan family in the period 1865-1882. Llwyn y Barcud, Kidwelly, Carmarthenshire, was owned by David Williams [1777]-[1791], John Griffiths [c. 1796] to [1809], and then the Thomas family, until 1937, when it was conveyed to Mrs M. A. Rees.


Arranged into the following groups: Llangynin, Llangynog and Tre-lech a'r Betws deeds; Bwlch and Blaencynnen deeds; Castillyrhingill deeds; Dinas Mill deeds; Cwmdwfn Farm deeds; Ungoed-Thomas and King records; and Llwyn y Barcud, Kidwelly, deeds.

Access Information

Ar Agor / Open

Dim cyfyngiadau / No Restrictions

Acquisition Information

Adnau preifat / Private deposit


Acc Nos: 4565; 6076; 5417; 5163; 6104; & 8807.

Other Finding Aids

Mae copiau clawr caled o`r catalogau ar gael yn Archifau Sir Gaerfyrddin ac yn y Gofrestr Cenedlaethol Archifau. Polisi Archifau Sir Gaerfyrddin yw catalogio yn iaith y ddogfen / Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Carmarthenshire Archives and the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Carmarthenshire Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Cyflwr da / Good condition

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Richard Burman for Archifau Sir Gaerfyrddin / Carmarthenshire Archives using the following source: Carmarthenshire Archives Service, Solicitors Records; Richards, Melville, Welsh Administrative and Territorial Units (Cardiff 1969); Jones, Major Francis, Historic Houses of Carmarthenshire and Their Families (Newport, 1997

Appraisal Information

Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Archifau Sir Gaerfyrddin wedi eu cadw / All records which meet the collection policy of the Carmarthenshire Archives have been retained

Custodial History

Deposited by Solicitor, of Messrs Ungoed-Thomas and King, Carmarthen, between 1968 and 1989, and then in 2018.

Deeds and documents relating to Waunrhydd, Newchurch, have been returned to the depositor.


Mae croniadau yn bosibl / Accruals are possible