Parish records of Sherburn in Elmet

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1640-1643, 1653-1734, 1736-1744, 1747-1999 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1812); register of marriages, 1640-1643, 1661-1734, 1736, 1738, 1740-1745, 1747-2014; register of burials, 1640-1643, 1653-1672, 1676-1732, 1736, 1738, 1740-1933 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1812); register of banns, 1823-1854, 1884-1901, 1946-1968, 1971-1999; register of services, 1914-1919, 1934-2010; register of graves, 1857-1893; register of services at Barkston Ash Chapel, 1926-1980; other registration material, 1928-1961; records concerning benefice income, including accounts, 1895-1929, 1940-1945, tithe papers, 1902-1954, glebe papers, 1908-1909, 1920, 1942-1944, sequestration accounts and correspondence and papers, 1971-1972, and other papers 1863, 1865, 1939, 1942-1959, 1971; charity records, including accounts, 1848, 1937-1954, and correspondence and papers, 1848, 1895, 1898, 1903, 1913, 1921, 1942-1943; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1718, 1738-1739, 1858-1973, rates, 1712, 1718, 1857, 1867, 1869, restoration accounts, 1949-1959, fabric papers and plans, 1857, 1891-1978, visitors' books, 1953-1975, churchyard papers, 1859, 1888, 1936-1954, 1963-1965, Barkston Ash accounts, 1887-1971, appeal brochure, 1975-1976, and church guides, 1989; records of incumbents, including photo of vicar, 19th century, catechism fund accounts, 1944-1952, parsonage house papers, 1888, 1944-1964, statistical returns, 1900-1903, 1928-1940, and dedication of Barkston Ash Chapel, 1974; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including Mother's Union accounts, 1940-1952, church hall accounts, 1950-1956, church hall deeds and correspondence, 1920-1956, plan of church hall, 20th century, and papers relating to Sherburn in Elmet Festival, 1976-1977; school records, including correspondence, 1908-1913, 1951-1953, Sunday School accounts, 1940-1954, 1958-1959, and letter book, 1928-1929; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1896-1995, electoral roll, c.1924-1934, 1936-1954, magazines, 1896-1897, 1972-1990, magazine accounts, 1944-1952, and papers, 1890, 1953, 1960s-1970s.

Administrative / Biographical History

There was already a church at Sherburn in Elmet by the time of the Norman Conquest. Reference was made to it in the Anglo-Saxon York Gospels and then again in Domesday. The rectory was appropriated to the Prebend of Fenton in the cathedral church of York, and a vicarage ordained there, in 1240. It remained subject to the Prebend’s peculiar jurisdiction until the nineteenth century. The manor of Sherburn is notable for having been the country seat of the Archbishops of York until the fourteenth century.

The original Anglo-Saxon church was replaced c.1100-1120 by a new Norman structure, parts of which still survive in the present parish church of All Saints. The church was expanded in the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries and a clerestory was added in the sixteenth. It was restored in 1857 by Anthony Salvin. A church hall was built in 1987.

The parish historically included Barkston Ash, Lotherton, Lumby, Micklefield, Newthorpe and South Milford. There were chapels of ease at Lotherton and Micklefield and a district church at South Milford. The church at South Milford was consecrated in 1846 and separated from Sherburn in 1859 to form a separate parish which also included Lumby. This was followed by the separation of Micklefield in 1886 and Lotherton in 1908. The latter was joined to Aberford parish. An addition of parts of Saxton Parish to Sherburn in Elmet took place in 1888

Today the parish, which still includes part of Barkston Ash and Newthorpe, is part of the benefice of Sherburn in Elmet with Saxton.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1975 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1983, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1993, 1994, 2000 and 2016.

Note

There was already a church at Sherburn in Elmet by the time of the Norman Conquest. Reference was made to it in the Anglo-Saxon York Gospels and then again in Domesday. The rectory was appropriated to the Prebend of Fenton in the cathedral church of York, and a vicarage ordained there, in 1240. It remained subject to the Prebend’s peculiar jurisdiction until the nineteenth century. The manor of Sherburn is notable for having been the country seat of the Archbishops of York until the fourteenth century.

The original Anglo-Saxon church was replaced c.1100-1120 by a new Norman structure, parts of which still survive in the present parish church of All Saints. The church was expanded in the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries and a clerestory was added in the sixteenth. It was restored in 1857 by Anthony Salvin. A church hall was built in 1987.

The parish historically included Barkston Ash, Lotherton, Lumby, Micklefield, Newthorpe and South Milford. There were chapels of ease at Lotherton and Micklefield and a district church at South Milford. The church at South Milford was consecrated in 1846 and separated from Sherburn in 1859 to form a separate parish which also included Lumby. This was followed by the separation of Micklefield in 1886 and Lotherton in 1908. The latter was joined to Aberford parish. An addition of parts of Saxton Parish to Sherburn in Elmet took place in 1888

Today the parish, which still includes part of Barkston Ash and Newthorpe, is part of the benefice of Sherburn in Elmet with Saxton.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2016.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, marriages and burials, 1640-1900, register of banns, 1823-1901, register of graves, 1857-1893, and tithe notes, 1839, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 774-776, 1757, 1772, 1774).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 04.03.16. Updated 04.08.16 to include 2016 accessions.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193