Records of Pembrokeshire Liberal Association

Scope and Content

Records of Pembrokeshire Liberal Association, 1949-1985; comprising correspondence, press cuttings, circulars and other papers, 1949-1959; Pembrokeshire Independent Political Committee papers, 1954-1955; and booklets and papers relating to proportional representation, 1974-1985.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Liberal Party's membership was organised locally on the basis of county or constituency associations of members. The Pembrokeshire seat was held by the Liberals until the 1950 General Election when their sitting MP, Gwilym Lloyd George, lost to the Labour candidate, Desmond Donnelly. Subsequently the seat was held by Labour and then the Conservatives. The Liberal Association was involved in election campaigns and pressed for the introduction of proportional representation. Pembrokeshire Independent Political Committee was active in the 1950s.


Original order maintained

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

Deposited, 1996.


Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, Records of the Pembrokeshire Liberal Association, catalogue; Jones, Beti, Etholiadau'r ganrif, 1885-1997/Welsh elections, 1885-1997 (Talybont: Y Lolfa, 1999).

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Pembrokeshire Record Office and the National Register of Archives.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained


Accruals are not expected

Related Material

Further records are National Library of Wales, NLW MS 2998.

Geographical Names