Parish records of Wintringham

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1558-1618, 1621-1887; register of marriages, 1558-1650, 1657-1978, 2002-2003; register of burials, 1558-1654, 1657-1953; register of services, 1905-1931, 1949-1968; records concerning benefice income, including papers, 1950-1964; charity records, including Wintringham Town Stock Charity account papers, 1934-1948; churchwardens’ records, including church restoration fund papers, 1940-1950; school records, including copy lease, 1949, and draft instrument of management, 1949; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including account book, 1775-1890, and bank papers, 1944-1947.

Administrative / Biographical History

There was a church at Wintringham from the twelfth century. It was granted by Eustace Fitz John to the newly founded Priory of Malton c.1150, and subsequently appropriated to them. Following the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century it appears to have passed into private hands.

The parish church, which is dedicated to St Peter, was repaired in 1818 and restored in 1887-1893 by John Oldrid Scott, at the expense of A. J. Chomley of Place Newton. Temple Moore added oak fittings to the chancel screen and stalls in 1889-1891. The church is also notable for its fourteenth century stained glass.

The parish historically included East and West Knapton, Linton and Place Newton. There was a chapel at Knapton from the medieval period, although it became redundant in the 1970s.

St Peter’s Church was declared redundant in 2004 and is now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust. Today its parishioners are part of the parish of Scampston with Wintringham within the benefice of Buckrose Carrs.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1979 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1980, 1992, 1993, 2005 and 2011.

Note

There was a church at Wintringham from the twelfth century. It was granted by Eustace Fitz John to the newly founded Priory of Malton c.1150, and subsequently appropriated to them. Following the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century it appears to have passed into private hands.

The parish church, which is dedicated to St Peter, was repaired in 1818 and restored in 1887-1893 by John Oldrid Scott, at the expense of A. J. Chomley of Place Newton. Temple Moore added oak fittings to the chancel screen and stalls in 1889-1891. The church is also notable for its fourteenth century stained glass.

The parish historically included East and West Knapton, Linton and Place Newton. There was a chapel at Knapton from the medieval period, although it became redundant in the 1970s.

St Peter’s Church was declared redundant in 2004 and is now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust. Today its parishioners are part of the parish of Scampston with Wintringham within the benefice of Buckrose Carrs.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2011.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1558-1885, marriages, 1558-1837, and burials, 1558-1885, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 817, 1581).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 21.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Bibliography

Yorkshire Parish Register Society, 'The parish register ofWintringham, 1558-1812. With three illustrations.' Transcribed and edited by Alfred J. Chomley (Wakefield, 1922).

Additional Information

Published

GB 193