- Sales records 1943;
- Photographs 1980s.
Records of William Halley Brown, brewers, Dundee, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 BR
- Dates of Creationc1943-1980s
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.02 metresThere are no physical characteristics that affect the use of this material
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Craigie Brewery was established in 1865 in Lyon Street, Dundee, Scotland . Andrew Webster & Son operated the brewery until 1880 when it was taken over by John Webster , followed by William Halley Brown in 1885. They brewed a range of ales and stouts up until around 1920 when brewing ceased and bottling became the main activity.
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
The records were found at the brewery
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot-Watt University. The records noted in Richmond & Turton's book (the well bore and water analysis records 1886-1891) do not appear to have been moved with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
No known publications using this material
This material is original
Fonds level description compiled by Natalie Milne, Archive Assistant (Hub), 31 October 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description, 8 June 2005. Revised by Wiebke Redlich, Archives Assistant (Hub), 06 June 2002; Emma Yan, Assistant Archivist, 27 November 2008; and Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 04 May 2012.