- Minutes of managing body, 1940;
- Records relating to Directors' meetings, 1940–1961;
- Minutes of members' meeting, 1921–1983;
- Registers of shareholders, 1962–1983;
- Annual return to registrar of company, 1974–1985.
Records of W H Bauly Ltd, brewers' agents, Glasgow, Scotland
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 BAU
- Dates of Creation1921-1985
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.14 linear metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The company began as brewers' agents, Queen Street, Glasgow in 1921, registering as a limited company under the name of W J Capes & Co Ltd with GBP 500. The first directors of the company were W J Capes, George Ritchie and W W Capes. Ethel Capes was appointed as a director on the death of her husband W W Capes in 1931-1932. Ethel Capes and W J Capes resigned as directors in 1939-1940 with the company offices moving to Newcastle-upon-Tyne England.
By 1969 at the latest the company had become a subsidiary of Scottish and Newcastle Breweries, and in 1974 it became a subsidiary of Waverley Vintners Ltd ; themselves a subsidiary of Scottish and Newcastle Breweries. In 1981 W J Capes & Co Ltd changed its name to W H Bauly & Co Ltd, and existed as a dormant company only.
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Access to certain records within this collection is restricted in accordance with data protection legislation as they contain information about potentially living individuals. Please email Archives and Special Collections for advice: email@example.com
Scottish & Newcastle plc.
Other Finding Aids
See also University of Glasgow Collections
File level list available in searchroom.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies of this material
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist.Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 248 procedures.
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot–Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
Location of Originals
This material is original