Loughborough College School

Scope and Content

Log book of Loughborough Junior Day Technical School 1917-18; admissions registers 1917-89 including Junior School of Art from 1939 and Building & Allied Trades 1949-53; admissions registers Limehurst School 1931-52; staff registers 1917-71; attendance registers (summary) 1953-60; accounts (minor) 1953-60; punishment book 1945-60; class lists 1950-61; library accessions registers 1953-72; speech day programmes 1920, 1946-64; souvenir programmes for school events including concerts and plays 1947-65; house records 1948-66; photographs c.1920s-60s; prospectus & calendar 1932-71; school magazine 1920, 1947-73; press cuttings; memorabilia; LCS Association 1949-2002

Administrative / Biographical History

Loughborough College School evolved from the Hickling Blue Coat School (originally for girls) endowed in 1690. By 1909 when Loughborough Technical Institute was opened the Hickling School had become a boys school. In 1916 this higher elementary school was closed and reorganised as a junior technical school and a department of the Technical Institute. The Junior Technical School was officially opened in September 1917. It changed its name to Loughborough Junior College in 1920 and in 1921 acquired grammar school status. Though its official name was Loughborough County Secondary School for Boys it continued to be known as the Junior College. The school name changed again - to Loughborough College School - in 1938. From 1942-55 it also included a school for Building & Constructive Trades. The Junior School of Art, which had opened in 1925 as part of Loughborough College's School of Art, was merged with Loughborough College School in 1950 and the school then became co-educational. As a result of the 1944 Education Act it became in 1946 a county school with its own governing body, though it retained strong links with Loughborough College. In 1956 the school moved to new premises at Thorpe Acre, though it continued to use its buildings in town until 1962. In 1967 Loughborough College School became a co-educational upper school taking pupils aged 14 to 19 under the Leicestershire Plan and in 1972 it became Burleigh Community College, 'a base where all members of the community can be involved in their own education'. In 1997 Burleigh became one of the first six specialist Sports Colleges in the country.


Arranged into series derived from the main areas of function and administration

Access Information

Open for consultation

Acquisition Information

Loughborough College School Association

Other Finding Aids

Typescript catalogue available in the searchroom

Archivist's Note

Description compiled by Jenny Clark, University Archivist. See: B Elliott, The History of Loughborough College School (Loughborough College School, 1971); The History of Loughborough College 1915-52 (Past Students' Association, Loughborough College, 1957; L M Cantor & G F Matthews, Loughborough: From College to University (Loughborough University of Technology 1977); L M Cantor, Loughborough University of Technology: Past and Present (Loughborough University of Technology, 1990)

Conditions Governing Use

Copies may be made for research purposes at the discretion of the University Archivist. Requests to publish, in extract or in full, should be submitted to the University Archivist

Related Material

GB 1176 LC (Loughborough College 1909-52)Records of Leicestershire Education Committee, Record Office for Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland