Records of Bradford Friends Band of Hope

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Committee minutes, 1868-1906 (3 vols.) [N 127-129]; including annual reports and accounts of subscriptions

Administrative / Biographical History

This was founded in 1854 and originally known as the Juvenile Temperance Society. Although its members were drawn from the children of the Friends First Day School, it was an independent body until 1870. By 1865 it had been renamed the Band of Hope and had a membership of 150. A peak was reached in the early 1880s, when lectures, lantern shows and musical entertainment drew 100s of people to its meetings. However this did not last and the Band of Hope was in severe decline by 1905, with only five meetings held during the course of that year. There are no recorded minutes after April 1906.

Arrangement

The records are numbered and arranged according to the system used when they were in Carlton Hill Meeting House

Conditions Governing Access

The conditions of deposit include a clause requiring written prior permission from a Friend Custodian for access to consult current legal documents and any material less than fifty years old

Acquisition Information

The collection of archives of the Society of Friends formerly held at the Friends Meeting House at Carlton Hill, Leeds

Note

In English

Other Finding Aids

Contents listed in Handlist 99, "Inventory of the records of Brighouse, Knaresborough, Leeds, and Settle Monthly Meetings of the Society of Friends formerly preserved at the Friends Meeting House, Carlton Hill, Leeds", 2nd edition, 1997

Conditions Governing Use

As with access, the photocopying of current legal documents and any material less than fifty years old requires the permission of a Friend Custodian

Related Material

Related material in Leeds University Library: Records of Bradford Friends First Day School and Bradford Preparative Meeting

Bibliography

Jubilee souvenir history of the Bradford Friends First Day School 1850-1900 (1900), pp. 8, 12, 16

Additional Information

The records are deposited and remain the property of the Society of Friends