Gibson & Lumgair Ltd., Woollen Textile Manufacturer, Selkirk

Scope and Content

Records of Directors, financial records, records of pattern design, records of property and records relating to external bodies.

Administrative / Biographical History

Gibson & Lumgair started business in Deanbank Mill, Galashiels, in 1882, using the old Free Church in Island Road as a warehouse, before moving their business to St Mary's Mill in Selkirk in 1890.

In 1962, Gibson & Lumgair Ltd. was acquired by Robert Sinclair Ltd., a subsidiary of the Imperial Tobacco Company Ltd., which at the same time acquired Bernat Klein's 'Colourcraft' - which was renamed Bernat Klein Limited. Bernat Klein production facilities were transferred to St Mary's Mill, Selkirk, but the administration stayed at Netherdale where Bernat Klein had been located. In 1966 Bernat Klein resigned the company, and in 1968 the company was renamed Gibson & Lumgair (Scotland) Limited. In 1971, the administrative office was moved to Selkirk.

In 1973, the Imperial Tobacco Company sold their interest in Gibson & Lumgair (Scotland) Limited to Messrs. Dryden, Kerrod and Redshaw, who moved the offices back to the High Mill at Netherdale. The business was concerned mainly with the retail shops known as Borderglen.

Gibson & Lumgair is still used as a brand name as a division of Grampian Holdings PLC.


Records are arranged chronologically by type following classification scheme

Access Information

By appointment at the Scottish Borders Campus. Closure periods may apply to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing personal information. Access to records in a fragile condition may be restricted.

Other Finding Aids

Printed list plus item level computerised list available in the Searchroom

Conditions Governing Use

Private study and research, subject to the condition of the documents. Applications for permission to quote from or publish images from the collection should be sent to the University Archivist.

Custodial History

The records were first listed as part of the Archive by the Business Archives Council (Scotland) Surveying Officer in 1988 while in the High Mill. Following the merger of the Scottish College of Textiles with Heriot-Watt University in October 1998, responsibility for the collection was transferred to Heriot-Watt University Archive, Records Management and Museum Service. In September 2000, the Archive moved to the Main Building at the Scottish Borders Campus, Galashiels.


Not expected.

Related Material

Bernat Klein Collection (GB 582 HWUA BK) held at the Scottish Borders Campus.

Scottish Borders Archive and Local History Centre; NRA 32397 Gibson & Lumgair : 1884-1964 : executive committee minutes, pay and tax records, corresp etc.


  • Galashiels; A Modern History,Galashiels History Committee and Ettrick and Lauderdale District Council 1983.