Letter from J. W. Beattie to H. Ling Roth concerning information about Fanny Smith. Also attached is a letter, dated 11th Feb 1897, from Mr. Rayner to J. W. Beattie [see HLR/1/2/11]. This describes the Aboriginals' use of spears and round stones. Also includes an account by J E Calder, a surveyor, who describes an visit to an Aboriginal camp between Mt Arrowsmith and Macquarrie Harbour, in Christmas 1840. Calder claimed to have found evidence of Aboriginal charcoal drawings at a place which became known as Painter's Plain, but these were then lost to the elements. [James Erskine Calder (8 June 1808- 20 February 1882) was Surveyor General of Tasmania].
Original reference: B10