Records of the Tamworth District Electric Supply Company Limited, 1930-1944

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

The records comprise a minute book covering the period May 1930-December 1944 and containsminutes of the board of directors of the Tamworth District Electric Supply Company Limited. Theyrecord in detail the activities and finances of the company, and its relationship and agreementswith its customers and the Pooley Hall Colliery Company.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Tamworth District Electric Supply Company Limited was incorporated in 1930. The company'sregistered office was at Polesworth in Tamworth, Staffordshire. It was closely associated with thePooley Hall Colliery Company Limited and the company minutes often record details about thecolliery. The Tamworth District Electric Supply Company had agreements to supply electricity to theCorporations of Tamworth and Birmingham as well as undertaking the conversion of many surroundingvillages to electric street lighting. The company was nationalised with the rest of the electricpower industry in 1948 and its activities were taken over by the East Midlands ElectricityBoard.

Arrangement

No archival arrangement has been necessary.

Conditions Governing Access

ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers.

REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.

Other Finding Aids

This description is the only finding aid available for the minute book. Copyright in thedescription belongs to The University of Nottingham.

Conditions Governing Use

COPYRIGHT: Permission to make published use of the minute book must be sought in advance inwriting from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email mss-library@nottingham.ac.uk). The Department willtry to assist in identifying copyright owners but this is often difficult and the responsibility forcopyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the person wishing to publish.

LANGUAGE: English

Custodial History

The fate of the bulk of the company's archive is not known. The present collection comprisingonly of minutes, retained by East Midlands Electricity Board, was given to The University ofNottingham's Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections in April 2000 by PowerGen.