Townhill School Records

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Log books, 1923-1979; admission registers, 1927-1974; attendance registers, 1971-1973, 1977; photographs, 1938-1977; plans, [1927]; Swansea Schools Athletic Sports Championship shield with plaque, 1900-1939.

Administrative / Biographical History

Townhill School, Townhill, Swansea, Glamorgan, opened in 1923 as a mixed and infants school. It reopened in new premises in 1927 as separate boys, girls and infants classes. The boys school became a secondary school in 1947, as part of a reorganisation, and then a junior comprehensive in 1970. A nursery school was opened in 1941 as a result of the bombing of Nelson Terrace Nursery School.

Arrangement

Arranged chronologically into: log books; admission registers; attendance registers; photographs; plans; shield.

Conditions Governing Access

Items under 100 years old containing information on named individuals may be restricted in accordance with the Data Protection Act 1998.

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.

Note

Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Education - Primary Schools, catalogue; Collis, Kim, West Glamorgan Archive Service - A Guide to the Collections (West Glamorgan Archive Service, 1998).

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained

Accruals

Accruals are not expected

Geographical Names