East Street Infants school was opened in October 1874. Board Schools were established during the 1870s following the 1870 Elementary Education Act and were often known as "Council Schools".
The Parade St building closed in 1981, the school being re-opened on the site at Pengwern on 28th Sept 1981.
When the school at Pentredwr closed in July 1981, equipment and teaching materials were taken from there to East St School, and thence to the new site at Pengwern. (iii).
On 1st Sept 1983 the Infants and Junior Depts. merged and the school was re-named Ysgol Bryn Collen.
This collection includes log books and admission registers.
Location of original school:
Street name- Parade Street / East Street, Llangollen