Records of the Boston and District Electric Supply Company Limited, 1923-1948

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

The collection comprises:

  • Memorandum and articles of association, 1923 (BEB 1).
  • Signed directors' minute books, 1923-1948 (BEB 2).
  • General meeting minute book, 1923-1948 (BEB 3).
  • Registers of directors', 1923-1948 (BEB 4).
  • Seal book, 1933-1947 (BEB 5).
  • File of papers maintained for the purposes of Companies Acts including a certificate of incorporation, 1923-1924 (BEB 6).
  • Share transfer forms, 1928-1946 (BEB 7).

Administrative / Biographical History

The Boston and District Electric Supply Company Limited (or Besco as it was known) was registeredin May 1923 as a public company with authorised capital of 170,000 pounds in one pound shares. The officesof the company were in Dolphin Lane, Boston, Lincolnshire. Besco supplied electricity to homes andstreet lights in Boston; the main street of the town was lit electrically for the first time inAugust 1924. Supply extended out of Boston for the first time in 1926 to the nearby village ofKirton. By 1948, the company was supplying to 10,600 consumers and covered 276 miles with powerlines. The company was nationalised in 1948 and its activities were taken over by the East MidlandsElectricity Board.

Arrangement

The collection has been arranged into seven series. Within these series, items have been arrangedchronologically.

Conditions Governing Access

ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers subject torestrictions concerning personal information.

REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.

Other Finding Aids

This description is the only finding aid available for the collection. Copyright in the description belongs to The University of Nottingham.

Conditions Governing Use

COPYRIGHT: Permission to make published use of items in the collection must be sought in advancein writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email mss-library@nottingham.ac.uk). The Department willtry to assist in identifying copyright owners but this is often difficult and the responsibility forcopyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the person wishing to publish.

LANGUAGE: English

Custodial History

The collection was given to The University of Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts and SpecialCollections in April 2000 by PowerGen.