Comprising: Incorporation papers and accounts, 1913-1998 [DYWILD/1]; Property records, 1965-1989 [DYWILD/2]; Clients' records, 1990s [DYWILD/3]; Stock records, 1977-1997 [DYWILD/4]; Staff records 1961-1998 [DYWILD/5]; and Memorabilia, 1988-1999 [DYWILD/6]
RECORDS OF WILD AND SYKES, IRONMONGERS, DONCASTER
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1913, the wholesale and retail ironmongery business of Wild and Sykes was founded by Mr William Wild, in partnership with a Mr Sykes. It originally operated from premises at 7 Market Road Doncaster. Although Sykes emigrated in 1927, the firm continued to trade under the name of Wild and Sykes until its closure. In the early days, William Wild travelled by bicycle around the local coal pits to do business. Sometime between 1915 and 1920, Wild and Sykes moved to leased premises at 23 High Street, Doncaster that the firm bought outright in 1976. The firm supplied ironmongery and builders' materials to collieries, brickworks and other local manufacturers as well as domestic customers. Wild and Sykes became a limited company in 1961.
William Wild died in 1962, aged 84. His son Stanley Wild died in 1979, and was succeeded in the business by his son Peter Wild. In 1978, Timothy Wild became the fourth generation of the family to join the business, which celebrated its 75th anniversary in the following year. Wild and Sykes ceased trading in January 1999, after 85 years in business, claiming to be 'another casualty of the lack of town-centre parking, pedestrianisation and the development of out-of-town shopping centres'