Hafod Brotherhood Football Club Records

Scope and Content

D/D HBFC 1/1-11 Minutes and Reports

D/D HBFC 2/1-19 Accounts and Balance Sheets

D/D HBFC 3/1-17 Football Season Records

D/D HBFC 4/1-9 Photographs and Newspaper Reports

D/D HBFC 5/1-16 Football Tours

D/D HBFC 6/1-20 Jubilees and Anniversaries

D/D HBFC 7/1-17 Other Records D/D HBFC 8/1-4 History of Club

Administrative / Biographical History

Hafod Brotherhood A.F.C was formed in 1922 by Ernie Green, Billy Williams and Alan Sullivan. All were members of the Hafod Brotherhood religious body. In 1924 the club changed its name to Hafod Sunday Schools due to Sunday Schools League rules. A change of rules in 1926/27 meant the club reverted back to its original name Hafod Brotherhood. In 1931/32 the club was registered under the name Swansea Nomads; the club was content to travel significant distances to play matches. Hafod Brotherhood became renowned as the oldest amateur football club in Swansea.

Hafod Brotherhood was one of the most distinguished clubs in the Swansea area. The club won numerous trophies and excelled particularly in cup competitions. The 1930's saw the team win twelve trophies. Hafod Brotherhood celebrated their Silver Jubilee with a famous victory over the Stade Francais amateur side in front of 8,000 spectators at the Vetch Field in Easter 1948. The 1960's was another golden decade for the club as the senior and junior sides won no less than 30 league and cup trophies between them.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained

Accruals

Accruals are not expected.