Oakes, Bevan, Tollemache & Company records

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Records of Oakes, Bevan, Tollemache & Company relating to it establishment and operation, and takeover by Capital & Counties Bank, including:

  • Establishment (1827-1899): partnership agreements;
  • Operation (1824-1895): bad and doubtful debts; opening of Eye branch; clerks’ declaration of secrecy; status opinions;
  • Amalgamation (1899-1903): amalgamation agreement; notice of rejected assets;
  • General (1795-1952): various histories of firm and pedigrees of Bevan family.

Administrative / Biographical History

James Oakes, a woollen merchant, opened a private bank in Bury St Edmunds in 1795. In 1830 the bank merged with Brown, Bevan, Moor & Hanbury (est. 1801), also of Bury to form Oakes, Bevan & Hanbury. It went through a number of partnership changes before becoming Oakes, Bevan, Tollemache & Company in 1895. The firm was also known as the Bury & Suffolk Bank. It had branches in Thetford (1798), Sudbury (1805), Haverhill (1810), Mildenhall (1827), Clar (1829), Brandon (1830), Debenham (1839), Soham (1839), Lakenheath (1898), Feltwell (1898) and Eye. The firm was taken over by Capital & Counties Bank in 1900.

Conditions Governing Access

Access is by appointment only, and at the discretion of the Archivist. Please e-mail archives@lloydsbanking.com for further information.

Other Finding Aids

Item level catalogue available - please e-mail archives@lloydsbanking.com for further details.

Geographical Names