St David's Ramshorn Church memorabilia

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Plans by Thomas Rickman; Minute book of Halls Building Committee; Psalm book; Pulpit Bible of Rev Robert Dickson; Information on stained glass windows, plaques and memorials, including Family tree of the Campbells of Tullichewan

Administrative / Biographical History

The original St David's Church was built in 1720, in the heart of the Merchant City of Glasgow. This building was demolished in the early 19th century to create a new road, Ingram Street, and a new St David's Church was built in 1824 on the same site. Thomas Rickman, a Birmingham architect, was chosen to design the new building, and his plans were modified by Dr James Cleland, Superintendent of Public Works in Glasgow. The Church halls were constructed in 1920. By 1911 all 32 windows had been filled with stained or painted glass, containing memorials to prominent citizens. Most of the stained glass was made in Glasgow, which was a world leader in stained glass at that time. The Merchant City area declined during the 20th century and, with a dwindling congregation, the Church of Scotland sold the Ramshorn Church to the University of Strathclyde in 1982. The building later became the home of the Strathclyde Theatre Group. The University had a much older connection with the Ramshorn, in that the University's founder, Professor John Anderson, attended this Church in the 18th century and was buried in the crypt. His grandfather and namesake, Rev John Anderson had been its Minister in earlier days.

Conditions Governing Access

Open

Other Finding Aids

Catalogued online to item level

Archivist's Note

Archivist's note: Description prepared by Margaret Harrison, Web version by Graham S. Holton, Jordanhill LibraryRules or Conventions: Description based on Scottish Archive Network guidelines, based on ISAD(G): General International Standard Archival Description, International Council on Archives (2nd edition, 2000). and Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names, National Council on Archives (1997)Date of descriptions: November 2008

Related Material

GB 243 Glasgow City Archives St David's Ramshorn Church records