Log book 1950-1976; Staff records 1895-1978; Pupil records 1895-1978; Photographs 1890-1956; School magazines 1948-1973; Records relating to school houses and societies 1920-1972; Records relating to events and celebrations 1949-1964; Miscellaneous records, [c. 1920]-1984; School magazines and other printed records, 1933-1971; Cassette tape, 1988
Llwyn-y-bryn School records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Swansea High School for Girls was opened in November 1888. The school occupied the house known as Llwyn y Bryn on Walter Road and was initially a private school. Following the passage of the Welsh Intermediate Education Act, the school was renamed Swansea Intermediate and Technical School for Girls and was run by a board of governors that included members from Swansea Town Council. From 1904 the school was administered by the Education Committee of Swansea Council which had been established under the 1902 Education Act. Extensions were added to the building as the number of pupils increased but in 1940 the school was damaged in bombing. It continued to act as a grammar school and was renamed Llwyn-y-bryn Secondary Girls' School in 1952. In 1970 the school was merged with St Helen's Secondary Modern School to become a senior comprehensive school.
Arranged by document type into date order
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained
Accruals are not expected.