Records of the Chanonry School, Old Aberdeen, comprising: boarders' cash book, 1880 - 1881; day book, 1881 - 1886; ledger, 1881 - c 1887, with bursary fund accounts; 1879 - 1884; and minutes, 1883 - 1889, of the Anderson Scholarship Trustees; cash account book, 1880 - 1892.
Records of the Chanonry School, Old Aberdeen
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 231 MS 2633
- Dates of Creation1879 - 1892
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description5 volumes No physical characteristics affecting use of collection
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Chanonry School, Old Aberdeen, was established in October 1847, with the encouragement of Dr Chalmers, under the government of a Council of Gentlemen in Aberdeen and the County desirous of promoting secondary education with a more comprehensive curriculum than was then common, similar to that of the Gymnasia of Germany. The boarding and day school became known as The Gym[nasium]. Under the headmastership of Dr Alexander Anderson (1808-1884) the school rivalled the grammar schools of New and Old Aberdeen. It closed in 1887 and the funds for the Anderson Scholarships were transferred to the Grammar School, Aberdeen. Fuller details may be found in Spirat adhuc amor: the record of the Gym (Chanonry House School), Old Aberdeen, compiled by Alexander Shewan (Aberdeen: Rosemount Press, 1923), in particular in the Prospectus of 1880 reproduced there as Appendix C.
None observed - listing in process.
Conditions Governing Access
Open, subject to signature accepting conditions of use at reader registration sheet
Deposited in the University in 1967 by Mr W.S. Angus
Other Finding Aids
Very brief collection level description available on Aberdeen University Library Catalogue, accessible online http://www.abdn.ac.uk/diss/library/
Alternative Form Available
No copies known
Conditions Governing Use
Subject to the condition of the original, copies may be supplied for private research use only on receipt of a signed undertaking to comply with current copyright legislation.
Permission to make any published use of material from the collection must be sought in advance from the Head of Special Libraries and Archives (e-mail: email@example.com) and, where appropriate, from the copyright owner. Where possible, assistance will be given in identifying copyright owners, but responsibility for ensuring copyright clearance rests with the user of the material.
This material has been appraised in line with normal procedures
No accruals expected
Spirat adhuc amor: the record of the Gym (Chanonry House School), Old Aberdeen, compiled by Alexander Shewan (Aberdeen: Rosemount Press, 1923)
This material is original