Deeds and documents, 1788-1896, mainly relating to the Nevill family of Llanelli and Westfa, including lands and coal mines in the parish of Llanelli.
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Nevill family were closely connected with the Swansea Copper Works and the Llanelly Copper Works, and collieries in Carmarthenshire during the 19th century. Charles Nevill, a businessman who came from Birmingham was the first of his family to settle at Vauxhall, Llanelli, where he worked at the Copper Works from 1804. His son, Richard Janion Nevill was High Sheriff in 1836. Richard's son, Charles William Nevill occupied the family home of Westfa from c. 1859.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by Lieutenant Colonel C. W. Nevill, Brondeg, Ferryside, 1961.
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Carmarthenshire Archives Service, Small Collections, L-Z; Jones, Major Francis, Historic Houses of Carmarthenshire and Their Families (Newport, 1997).
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Carmarthenshire Archives Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records deposited at Carmarthenshire Archives Service have been retained.
Accruals are not expected