Parish records of Stillingfleet

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1603-1696, 1700-1993 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1812); register of marriages, 1598-1696, 1700-1990; register of burials, 1598-1622, 1653-1696, 1700-1992 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1812, ages only from 1807); register of banns, 1919-1971; register of services, 1921-1990; register of confirmations, 1858, 1935-1971; register of communicants, 1858-1859, 1937; other registration material, 1972-1977; records concerns benefice income, includes Easter offerings, 1827-1875, tithe accounts, 1839-1859, glebe papers, 1825, 1827, 1920, survey of lands, 1806, and papers, 1953, 1967; charity records, including accounts, 1857-75, correspondence, 1880, and papers for Howard Charity, Stillingfleet Charity, Cauffield Charity and Loftus Charity, 1915-1976, and papers relating to sponsored knit-in, c.1975; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1657, 1694, 1891-1920, 1926-1943, briefs, 1685-1694, restoration plans, 1876, fabric papers, 1937-1940, 1959-1990, fundraising papers, 1971-1988, churchyard papers, 1917-1978, historical memoranda relating to church, c.1960, 1973, and visitors' books, 1961-1981; records of incumbents, including ‘History of Stillingfleet’ by Sir Clements Markham, 1876, historical notes, 18th century, 1884-1914, benefice papers, 1951, 1978, dilapidations papers, 1831, 1948-1977, and service papers, 1972-1977; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including church hall and events papers, 1970s; school records, including correspondence and papers, 1866-1964, copy of admissions register relating to evacuees, 1939-1944, and deeds, 1903; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1891-1920, 1923-1936, 1970-1986, copy of enclosure award, 1753, bill for enclosing land, 1798, claim for and schedule of allotments at Cliffe enclosure, 1843-1844, accounts and financial papers, 1954-1988, wayleave agreements, 1972, insurance papers, 1969-1976, electoral rolls, 1920-1935, electoral papers, 1973-1977, correspondence, 1974-1976, and correspondence regarding church magazine, 1972; leaflet for Golden Jubilee Celebration in Stillingfleet, 2002.

Administrative / Biographical History

The earliest known reference to a church in Stillingfleet was in 1244, although the church building dates to the mid-twelfth century. In 1292 the vicarage was consolidated with the rectory. It was held by the Dean of York until 1818 when it was given to St Mary’s Hospital in Bootham, York, and a vicarage subsequently ordained.

St Mary’s held the church until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which time it passed to the Dean and Chapter of York. The living was augmented through Queen Anne’s Bounty in 1734.

The parish church, which is dedicated to St Helen, was extended in the thirteenth and fourteenth centuroes. The nave was reroofed in 1828 and in 1877 the church was extensively renovated by architect Charles Hodgson Fowler. The church is notable for its twelfth century south door with decorative metalwork.

There was a vicarage house by the 1530s. It was rebuilt at some point and then repaired and extended in 1770. The house was rebuilt again in 1950.

The parish historically included Kelfield and Moreby. Today the parish of Stillingfleet and Kelfield is part of the benefice of Escrick and Stillingfleet with Naburn.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1969. Further additions were made to the archive in 1980, 1988, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1995 and 2002.

Note

The earliest known reference to a church in Stillingfleet was in 1244, although the church building dates to the mid-twelfth century. In 1292 the vicarage was consolidated with the rectory. It was held by the Dean of York until 1818 when it was given to St Mary’s Hospital in Bootham, York, and a vicarage subsequently ordained.

St Mary’s held the church until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which time it passed to the Dean and Chapter of York. The living was augmented through Queen Anne’s Bounty in 1734.

The parish church, which is dedicated to St Helen, was extended in the thirteenth and fourteenth centuroes. The nave was reroofed in 1828 and in 1877 the church was extensively renovated by architect Charles Hodgson Fowler. The church is notable for its twelfth century south door with decorative metalwork.

There was a vicarage house by the 1530s. It was rebuilt at some point and then repaired and extended in 1770. The house was rebuilt again in 1950.

The parish historically included Kelfield and Moreby. Today the parish of Stillingfleet and Kelfield is part of the benefice of Escrick and Stillingfleet with Naburn.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2002.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, marriages and burials, 1598-1900, enclosure and tithe awards, 1753, 1842, 1838-1859, accounts, 1827-1875, and a parish history are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 787, 1756, 1776-1777).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 09.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The records of Naburn Methodist Church are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193