Amalgamated Wheelwrights, Smiths and Kindred Trades Union

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Minutes, 1908-24; annual reports, 1869, 1877; rules, 1920.

Administrative / Biographical History

The union was founded in 1830 as the Loyal Wheelwrights and Blacksmiths' Society. It became the Loyal, Free, Industrious Society of Wheelwrights and Blacksmiths in 1870 and this society amalgamated with the Amalgamated Wheelwrights and Carriage Makers' Union to form the Amalgamated Society of Wheelwrights, Smiths and Motor Body Makers in 1908. The union merged with the National Union of Vehicle Builders in 1925.

Reference: David Lyddon, Craft unionism and industrial change : a study of the National Union of Vehicle Builders until 1939.University of Warwick PhD, 1987.

Conditions Governing Access

Access : Prior written permission to consult the archive is required. Researchers should apply to the Mr R. Scott, TGWU, Transport House, Palace Street, London, SW1E 5JD.

Archivist's Note

The archive is listed as a sub-group of the Transport and General Workers' Union and predecessors' archive. An authority file exists for the Amalgamated Wheelwrights, Smiths and Kindred Trades Union (GB 152 AAR351) and its predecessors : the Amalgamated Society of Wheelwrights, Smiths and Motor Body Makers (GBR 0152 AAR352); the Loyal, Free, Industrious Society of Wheelwrights and Blacksmiths (GBR 0152 AAR354); and the Loyal Wheelwrights and Blacksmiths' Society (GBR 0152 AAR355).

Custodial History

The records of the Amalgamated Wheelwrights, Smiths and Kindred Trades Union and predecessors form part of the archive of the National Union of Vehicle Builders which in its turn forms part of the archive of the Transport and General Workers' Union and predecessors. The NUVB archive was split into two parts in the 1970s. Older records, including those of the Amalgamated Wheelwrights, Smiths and Kindred Trades Union were deposited in the Vehicle Building and Automotive Museum established in Coventry by the Transport and General Workers' Union. The museum opened in 1976 and closed in 1980 when the records were transferred to the union's regional office and subsequently to the Modern Records Centre in June 1987. The archive has been deposited in the Centre on indefinite loan.