5 minute books, dating from 8 April 1917 to 31 January 1944, all written in the same hand, most probably that of the secretary, William Henry Parry of Porth Llongdy Uchaf. They include details of meetings and collections held, names of preachers and appointment of ministers etc. Item 5430 contains a short history of the congregational cause in Benllech.
Benllech Congregational Chapel Minute Books
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 222 BMSS BEN
- Dates of Creation1917 April 8 - 1944 January 31
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialWelsh.
- Physical Description5 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The history of the congregational cause in Benllech, Anglesey can be traced back to 1820 when Tyn y Gongl chapel was built by William Pritchard. The chapel was re-built in 1824, but was short lived due to the emergence of a new chapel, the Tabernacle in 1834.
In the late 19th century, a Mr Robert Roberts of Brynteg and John Parry of Porth Llongdy Uchaf expressed a wish to build a new chapel. The Architect of the new house of worship was Mr Richard Davies of Bangor. Work began on collecting money towards the building work and on 6 March 1900 the first sermon was preached in Benllech Congregational Chapel. The cause was still flourishing in 1920.
Arranged chronologically and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users.
Presented to the University of Wales Bangor by one of the trustees of the chapel, Mr Rolant Lloyd, Eirianallt, Tyn y Gongl, Anglesey in 1944.
Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, March 2002.
Other Finding Aids
A typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 5429-5433
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.