Plan of Lower Sketty Farm, 1818, and Sketty Park, 1840; survey of the Sketty Park Estate, 1874; copy of the Llanrhidian Higher tithe map, [c. 1874]; deeds, 1875.
Sketty Park Estate Estate Records/Maps and Plans
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Sir John Armine Morris (1813-1893) was the 3rd Baronet of Sketty Park. The family founded Morriston as an industrial township to house their workers in the late eighteenth century. Sketty Park was built about 1820.
Arranged into the following: plans, surveys, deeds
Conditions Governing Access
Received from Ruth Thomas, Rowland Jones & Partners, Chartered Surveyors, 120 Walter Road, Swansea SA1 5RF for deposit with the West Glamorgan Archive Service, County Hall, Oystermouth Road, Swansea, 15 June 2001
Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Sketty Park Estate Estate Records/Maps and Plans; Collis, Kim, The West Glamorgan Archive Service: A Guide to the Collections (West Glamorgan Archive Service, 1998); Nicholas, Thomas, Annals and Antiquities of the Counties and County families of Wales (London, 1872); Dictionary of Welsh Biography down to 1940 (London, 1959).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service and the National Register of Archives
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records transferred to the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.
Accruals are not expected.