Scope and Content

Comprising: minutes of the Dispensary Committee [HR2/1/1–3] and subsequently the Infirmary General [HR2/1/4–9] and other committees 1792-1966; new infirmary building estimates, bills of quantity etc 1925-1930; annual reports 1812-1946 and drafts 1928-1947; newspapers cuttings books 1923-1963; nursing records 1923-1971

Administrative / Biographical History

A dispensary for the 'sick poor' of the town and neighbourhood was founded by public subscription in 1792, and the first dispensary building opened in Frenchgate in the following year. A new building, housing both a dispensary and a twenty-three bed infirmary was opened on a new site in 1867 and extended in 1905. The infirmary moved to its present site in Thorne Road in 1930.

Access Information


Public Records

Related Material

The history of the hospital is the subject of G. Swann, 'The Doncaster Royal Infirmary, 1792-1972' (Doncaster, 1973) and H. Marsland, 'The Provision of Medical Treatment for the Sick Poor, the Doncaster Dispensary 1792-1867' (University of Warwick, unpublished MA dissertation, 1980). Both are available in the departmental library at Doncaster Archives.

Doncaster County Borough, building control plans, reference AB/BUILD/5/ 4568, (May 1891) 4569 (May 1891), 4570 (Aug 1906), 4571 Jun 1911), 4623 (Dec 1921), 5962 (Aug 1923), 5963 (Feb 1924), 10,322 (Oct 1935), which relate to the Wood Street premises. AB/BUILD/5/8150, 8158, 8161, 8172, 8175, 8193, 10,143 are building control plans which relate to the new Infirmary at Thorne Road.