Volumes of drawings, newscuttings and manuscript items relating to English church architecture. Subjects include: Fonts, monuments and headstones, Norman architecture, Gothic chapels, sedilia and piscine, church windows, metal work in churches, carvings, sundials and moondials, chairs in churches, church chests, misericords, church art, bench ends, roof bosses, heraldry, church doors.
The Richardson Collection
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 150 MS115
- Dates of Creation1929-1960
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description82 volumes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Charles John Richardson (fl. 1929-1960) Richardson was resident at the following addresses: The Grammar School, Shoreham by Sea, Sussex (1938); Morecombe Farm, East Allington, Totnes, Devon (1946); and Firlands, Bishops Frome, Worcester (1955).
Reference: This information was deduced from reused letters and envelopes within the collection, on which CJR wrote notes.
Open. Access to all registered researchers.
Immediate Source of Acquisition
This collection was deposited by the Librarian of Herefordshire County Library in 1962/1963.
Other Finding Aids
Please see full catalogue for more information.
Conditions Governing Use
Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advance in writing from the University Archivist, Special Collections. Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult. Special Collections will assist where possible with identifying copyright owners, but responsibility for ensuring copyright clearance rests with the user of the material.
Further deposits are not expected.