Falcon Boat Club was formed in 1869 by a group of young men from Holywell Church for the purpose of pleasure-boating. It began its first season with about 20 members, and admitted women rowers, often the daughters of local boat-builders. The club's first headquarters were the Kings Arms in Holywell Street, but they moved their base several times over the years. Around 1880 the name was altered to Falcon Rowing Club.
During the period 1888-1897 the club had great success, winning many trophies. After a lenghty period of struggle with a low number of active members, they were Head of the River between 1946 and 1955 and enjoyed victories in many local Regattas. A new boathouse was opened in 1958, and the club is now the oldest surviving rowing club in the city of Oxford (1994).
The documents were deposited via the City Council in 1990 and 1992 (accession numbers 3030 & 3478). They cover the years 1872-1984 and consist of minute books, annual reports, financial papers, programmes of regattas and social events, including the celebrations for the club's centenary. There are also a few papers relating to other local clubs, such as the Oxford University &
College Servants', Neptune, and Hannington. The last two became City of Oxford Rowing Club in 1968.
Catalogued by Mark Priddey, March 1994.