Parish records of Wistow

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1590-1664, 1669-1673, 1677-1990 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1778-1780); register of marriages, 1590-1673, 1677-2004; register of burials, 1590-1664, 1669-1673, 1677-1990 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1778-1779); register of banns, 1822-1985; register of services, 1861-1898, 1946-2001; other registration material, 1857-1990; records concerning benefice income, including deeds and leases, 1763-1896, sequestration correspondence, 1951-1952, and glebe papers, 1878; charity records, including correspondence, 1903-1962, and Charity Commissioners' report, 1898; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1845-1894, 1914-1955, restoration subscriptions, 1887, fabric papers, 1883-1963, churchyard deeds and correspondence, 1888, restoration accounts, 1877-1896, tower restoration papers, 1913-1916, chancel refitting papers, 1911, and designs for war memorial cross, c.1920; records of incumbents, including parsonage house papers, 1875-1951, statistical returns, 1921-1926, 1928-1931, 1933-1936, and commonplace book and papers of Reverend W. H. F. Bateman, 1914-1921; service papers, 1956; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including Harvest Festival accounts, 1915; school records, including accounts, 1877-1897, 1928-1950, correspondence and papers, 1875-1935, deeds, 1876, 1906, 1913, managers' minutes of meetings, 1904-1945, and press cuttings, 1929; surveyors’ records, including accounts, 1838-1882; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1923-1961, 1968-1981, accounts, 1951-1970, 1994-2002, papers, 1897, notes on parish clerk, n.d. and 20th century, parliamentary acts and associated papers, 1802-1897, antiquarian notes on Dunn family of Wistow, Halifax and Attercliffe, 1919, and copy of manorial court roll, 1853.

Administrative / Biographical History

The parish church at Wistow dates to the twelfth century. The church was appropriated to the Prebendary of Wistow in the thirteenth century and remained subject to its peculiar jurisdiction until the nineteenth. Between 1761 and 1874 the parish had no resident vicar but was served by a curate in charge.

The church was extensively altered in the sixteenth century, with the rebuilding of the chancel and the addition of the church tower. It was restored in 1883-1884 by York architect James Demaine who added a vestry and organ chamber. The stained glass windows were repaired by J. W. Knowles. The church was refloored by Charles Hodgson Fowler in 1900 and the reredos and panelling repaired by W. H. Brierley in 1911.

Today Wistow is part of the benefice of Cawood with Ryther and Wistow.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was desposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1968 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1984, 1985, 1987, 1989, 1990 and 2008.

Note

The parish church at Wistow dates to the twelfth century. The church was appropriated to the Prebendary of Wistow in the thirteenth century and remained subject to its peculiar jurisdiction until the nineteenth. Between 1761 and 1874 the parish had no resident vicar but was served by a curate in charge.

The church was extensively altered in the sixteenth century, with the rebuilding of the chancel and the addition of the church tower. It was restored in 1883-1884 by York architect James Demaine who added a vestry and organ chamber. The stained glass windows were repaired by J. W. Knowles. The church was refloored by Charles Hodgson Fowler in 1900 and the reredos and panelling repaired by W. H. Brierley in 1911.

Today Wistow is part of the benefice of Cawood with Ryther and Wistow.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2008.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, 1590-1917, marriages, 1590-1965, and burials, 1590-1857, churchwardens' accounts, overseers' rate book, settlement certificates and bastardy bonds, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 818, MFB 2020).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 21.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193