Royal Hospital, Dublin: Charter

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Charter of the Royal Hospital, Dublin, 40 folios: (fo. 10) copy of the charter of the Hospital granted by King Charles II, 19 February 1684, made c. 1711; (fo. 28v) list of Governors of the Hospital; (fo. 30) annual standing charge of the Hospital, c. 1711.

On the binding are the arms and crest of William Bayntun. Inside the front cover: 'J. Craven, 9th May 1810'. On fo. 1: 'W. Bayntun'.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Royal Hospital at Kilmainham, Dublin, was founded by James Butler, Duke of Ormonde, in 1680, and completed in 1684. The Hospital was built to provide a home for pensioner soldiers, and was employed in this function until 1927. During the nineteenth century it also became the residence of the Commander-in-Chief of the army, who served as the Hospital's Governor. The Hospital was handed over to the Free State in 1922, and closed soon after the departure of the last pensioners. Following restoration work, which began during the 1980s, the Hospital reopened as the Irish Museum of Modern Art in 1991.

Conditions Governing Access

Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.

Acquisition Information

Received from the collection of Henry Bradshaw, 1870.

Note

Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives.

Other Finding Aids

Additional Manuscripts Catalogue.

Bibliography

The charter was printed in Dublin, 1760. A document similar to the standing charge, dating from 1702, is printed in E.S.E. Childers and R. Stewart, Story of the Royal Hospital, Kilmainham (London, 1921), appendix VIII.

Subjects