The Eric Wood building was constructed in 1975, designed jointly by the Leicester City Architects team and the Leicestershire County Architects team. The three-floor concrete frame building is faced with red semi-engineering brick and provides 2,300 square metres of floor space. The building originally housed senior management and administrative offices, improving efficiency by uniting administrative functions in one place. On the move of senior management to Trinity House and financial administration to the John Whitehead Building space became available to create the Eric Wood Learning Zone. This is an extension of the Library providing additional study space for students. People and Organisational Services occupy the remainder of the building.
Eric Wood was Principal of the Leicester College of Technology from 1953 to 1969, and the first Director of Leicester Polytechnic until 1973.