Hugh Aston Building

Administrative / Biographical History

The Hugh Aston Building was completed in 2009 to replace the James Went Building. It was designed by Jack Gant of CPMG Architects, Nottingham. The building has a reinforced concrete frame with a patinised copper cladding and areas of glazing. It was designed to fit the Building Research Establishment Environmental Assessment Method criteria including use of natural daylight and ventilation, reduced thermal mass, and rainwater harvesting. The building houses the Faculty of Business and Law, and includes lecture theatres, a mock law court, the Law Library, a café and the University Bookshop.

As part of the construction the ring road was redirected and a new square was created around the Magazine Gateway. This freed the Gateway from being situated in the middle of the ring-road and restored it to prominence. Hugh Aston was opened on 17 March 2010 by Patrick McKenna, founder of Ingenious Media, a media investment company.

Hugh Aston (c.1485-1558) was the organist and choirmaster of the Church of the Annunciation, which was situated where the Hawthorn Building is today. As well as a composer and musician, he also held several civic roles in Leicester including Coroner, Mayor and Auditor of Accounts.