The Lero Buildings on Painter Street were used as an extension for the Leicester College of Technology from 1946. Classes in engineering were held in a converted power station, formerly part of the Tramways Department. The name Lero Buildings came from the traditional name for this area of Leicester, a large field labelled "Lero" can be seen on various old maps. Extensions to the building, completed in 1961, required accommodation for engineering workshops, general teaching spaces and an assembly hall, while the older building was to be converted to deal with science teaching. The extension was constructed using the CLASP system, at this time the largest building to use the method. To maintain the connection with the main College, staff were commissioned to produce furniture, mosaics, textiles, murals and sculptures. Part of the new extension was designated Charles Keene College of Further Education. At first managed by the Leicester College of Technology, the College became a separate entity when certain subjects, particularly junior classes, were removed from the curriculum of the Colleges of Art and Technology when they became Leicester Polytechnic. Charles Keene College catered for the 15-18 age group who could not attend the Polytechnic. Since 1999 it has been part of Leicester College and the Lero Buildings were refurbished to form part of the Abbey Park Campus.
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 3071 D/037/02/13
- Dates of Creation1952-1961
Administrative / Biographical History
The film reels are currently inaccessible as Special Collections does not have the technology to play them.