The City of Leicester Training College for Teachers opened in 1945 in Humberstone Road. The institution outgrew these premises and in 1954 the Council bought Scraptoft Hall with the surrounding 44 acres of land. Scraptoft is a village to the east of Leicester. The Hall was a Queen Anne manor house which was converted into offices, while new buildings were added on the grounds including an assembly hall, dining hall, library, kitchen, main teaching block, arts and crafts block, music pavilion, gymnasium, administration offices and halls of residence. The College was able to move into these new premises in 1960.
In 1962 further expansion began, including more teaching blocks and halls of residence, a drama theatre, dance studio, language lab and computer link. In 1976 the institution, now known as the City of Leicester College of Education, merged with Leicester Polytechnic. The Polytechnic began operating across two sites, the Central Campus and the Scraptoft Campus. This arrangement continued when the Polytechnic became De Montfort University.
The Scraptoft Campus was sold in 2003 for development.