William Jones (1819-1904) and John Jones (1825-1913) were the children of William and Maria Jones, of Caia farm, Wrexham, Denbighshire. William was articled to Edwin Wyatt, solicitor, and became an auditor to the gas and water companies, savings bank and Poor Law Union in Wrexham, and clerk to the Maelor justices and tax commissioners at Overton, Flintshire. John was apprenticed as a chemist, but with his brother established the Island Green Brewery, Wrexham, in about 1857. He lived at Grove Lodge, Wrexham. John was liberal in his gifts to the Church and hospitals in Wrexham and to the parishioners of Wrexham and Rhosddu. His charitable bequests funded among other things the convalescent homes in Rhyl (1913-) and Minera (1913-1951) for the benefit of people from Wrexham and Rhosddu. These were administered by the William and John Jones Charity, which is still active, now a Trust.
Scope and content: Papers relating to William and John Jones and their business and charitable interests, 1817-1972, including deeds and other papers, 1817-1912, relating to properties in Wrexham, Minera and elsewhere in Denbighshire, and Overton, Flintshire; accounts, 1869-1916; rent books and accounts, 1902-1912; legal papers, including correspondence, 1889-1916; papers relating to the estate of William Jones, 1904-1908; papers relating to John Jones' property mainly in Denbighshire, 1895-1914; papers relating to charities, 1904-1914; newspaper cuttings and ephemera, [?1883]-1907; correspondence, 1912-1930, accounts, 1874-1963, and deeds and related papers, 1913-1921, relating to the executors of John Jones' estate; minutes, 1913-1972, accounts, 1913-1969, legal papers, 1913-1972, photographs, [1950s], and other papers of the trustees of John Jones' will; accounts, registers, inventories, staff records and other records relating to the Rhyl and Minera convalescent homes, 1912-1971.