Shareholding records, 1898 1950; rents book, 1912 1960; draft minute of directors' meeting regarding change to a private company, 1908.
The Dundee Calendering Company Ltd.
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Dundee Calendering Company Ltd was incorporated in 1908. It was housed in a complex called the Dundee or Queen Street Calendar, built in around 1822. In its early days it was managed by A.J. Warden. In the 1950s Alexander and Sons Ltd acquired many of their shares, and possibly a controlling interest in the company. By 1960 the company was a subsidiary of Low Brothers & Co (Dundee) Ltd, and thus eventually became part of Don & Low (Holdings) Ltd.
Records are arranged chronologically within series.
Conditions Governing Access
Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.
The records were deposited by Don & Low Holdings Ltd. between 1988 and 2001.
Other Finding Aids
Descriptive list. Subject source lists and databases are also available. Some of the collection is not yet catalogued.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
The records are on paper.
Fonds level description compiled by Sarah Chubb, Archives Hub Project Archivist, February 2002.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.
Location of Originals
The material is original.