Photographs created by the National Army Museum, covering the Museum Council members, staff, distinguished visitors, events, displays, buildings and collections, including posters and audio visual material.
Photographs of the National Army Museum
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The National Army Museum was established by Royal Charter in April 1960 in the Old Riding School at the Royal Military Academy Sandhurst. However, the origin of the Museum extends further back to 1947, with the disestablishment of the Indian Army and Irish and Cavalry regiments, resulting in the appointment of a curator in 1950 to care for the relics displayed in Sandhurst's Indian Army Memorial Room and the Hastings Room. Supported by Field Marshal Sir Gerald Templer and the War Office (later Ministry of Defence), the Museum soon outgrew its premises at Sandhurst and a new building, part funded by public appeal, was built in Chelsea next to the Royal Hospital, opened by HM Queen Elizabeth II in November 1971. The Museum continued to develop its research and educational remit, and closed in 2014 for a major redevelopment of the Chelsea site, reopening in March 2017.
Records within this sub-fonds have been arranged thematically, although original record series have been retained where they exist.
Records within this sub-fonds have been transferred to the National Army Museum's Institutional Archive through the Museum's records management processes.
Conditions Governing Use
Copyright of the National Army Museum; some photographs are the copyright of other photographers, most typically the Ministry of Defence and commissioned photographers.
Records created by the National Army Museum are appraised according to the Institutional Archive Collections Development Policy and Retention Schedule.
Accruals are expected to this sub-fonds.