Manuscript commonplace book entitled 'The Triumphs of Man', c. 1660

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

'The Triumphs of Man' is a manuscript commonplace book divided into themes with references tohymns and passages from the bible arranged under them. The themes began on numbered page 1 with'Beauty' and conclude on page 131 with 'Bastards eminent'. An index of themes appears at the back ofthe volume, while at the front there is a list of authors and titles appearing in the volume.

The binding of the volume bears the words 'Commonplace Book' on the spine and a coat of arms onthe cover with the motto in French, 'Honi soit qui mal y pense' [Evil to him who evil thinks], themotto of the Order of the Garter. The volume was once in the possession of the Dukes of Newcastle ofClumber, Nottinghamshire.

Administrative / Biographical History

The creator of this manuscript has not been identified.

Arrangement

No archival arrangement has been necessary.

Conditions Governing Access

ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers.

LANGUAGE: English

Other Finding Aids

This description is the only finding aid available for the manuscript. Copyright on thedescription belongs to The University of Nottingham.

Conditions Governing Use

REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.

COPYRIGHT: Permission to make published use from the manuscript must be sought in advance inwriting from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email mss-library@nottingham.ac.uk). The Department willtry to assist in identifying copyright owners but this can be difficult and the responsibility forcopyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the person wishing to publish.

Custodial History

The volume was acquired by The University of Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts and SpecialCollections in November 1985. It was formerly part of the library at Clumber of the Dukes ofNewcastle which was sold in 1937 (part of lot 1233). A bookplate of Don L. Nichols identifies onesubsequent owner.