Pontypool Rural District Council Records

Scope and Content

Records of Pontypool Rural District Council, 1894-1974.

Administrative / Biographical History

Pontypool Rural District Council (RDC), Monmouthshire, was established under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1894 and comprised (in 1969) the parishes of Goetre Fawr, Gwehelog Fawr, Llanbadog Fawr, Llanfrechfa Lower, Llangybi Fawr, Llanhenwg Fawr and Llantrisaint Fawr. The Council comprised a number of councillors and a chairman and superseded the local sanitary authority. Its responsibilities included sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, maintaining local roads, cemeteries and parks, licensing of public entertainments, water supply and housing. RDCs were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Medical Officer of Health, Surveyor and Sanitary Inspector. Pontypool RDC was abolished in 1974 following local government reorganisation, and its functions were assumed by the new Monmouth and Torfaen Borough Councils.


No information found

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

No information found


Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Gwent Record Office, Pontypool Rural District Council, catalogue; Jackson, W. Eric, The Structure of Local Government in England and Wales (London: Longmans, 1949); Hey, David, Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History (Oxford, 1997); Richards, Melville, Welsh Administrative and Territorial Units (Cardiff, 1969); A Vision of Britain Through Time website (www.visionofbritain.org.uk), viewed 20 September 2005.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Gwent Record Office.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained


Accruals are not expected

Geographical Names