Deeds and documents, 1766-1908 , relating to the Panthowell estate, Trelech a'r Betws , and the Williams, Willes and Trafford families, including deeds, 1766-1854; and copies of marriage settlements, 1766-1834.
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 211 PANTHOWELL
- Dates of Creation1766-1908
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.030 cubic metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The house of Panthowell, Trelech a'r Betws, Carmarthenshire, was owned by the Williams family for nearly three centuries. John Williams (d. 1773) was the last of the male line at Panthowell. The property passed to his daughter Margarette Vandewall Williams, who married the Rev. William Shippen Willes, of Cirencester, (d. 1822) in 1797; their son, William Willes, inherited the estate. By 1831, the estate consisted of Panthowell, Panthowell Mill, Crug y denyon and Ffynnon Sais. In 1834 the estate was sold to Lt-Col Thomas Samuel Nicholls (1787-1857), of Tenby, Pembrokeshire. In 1837, Nicholls adopted the name Trafford, his grandmother's family, and built a large mansion at Panthowell in c. 1850. His second wife, Maria, continued to live at Panthowell until her death in 1908. The property was then sold to local farmers.
Deposited by Mr and Mrs C. Thomas, Ammanford, Carmarthenshire, 1984.
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Carmarthenshire Archives Service, Small Collections, L-Z; Jones, Major Francis, Historic Houses of Carmarthenshire and Their Families (Newport, 1997).
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Carmarthenshire Archives Service and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records deposited at Carmarthenshire Archives Service have been retained.
Accruals are not expected