Dr G H Griffiths of Deganwy

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Dr Gilbert Henderson Griffiths was born in 1867 and died in 1934. He studied medicine at Liverpool in 1891 and took the M.R.C.S and L.R.C.P qualifications. Dr Griffiths occupied various posts and then started a practice in Deganwy, where he then lived for over forty years. He was a loyal churchman, Conservative and freemason and had a keen sense of humour. Dr Griffiths also enjoyed sport and once played a doubles match against the late Lord Birkenhead. He was one of the original members and Chairman of the Committee of the Deganwy Lawn Tennis Club, situated on York Road and was one of the most prominent figures in the public life of Deganwy. Dr Griffiths was in partnership with Dr Emlyn Roderick Davies who joined him around 1931. During the First World War he was a medical officer at the Conwy Morfa Camp and was very popular with the troops. Dr Griffiths was one of the Founders of the Deganwy and Marl Ratepayers Association and had been chairman for some years.

Dr Griffiths was married to Miss Hylda Tritton, whose family owned the Deganwy Castle Hotel and they resided at Glan-y-Mor, Deganwy where his surgery was also located. Dr Griffiths and Hylda had two children, Margaret Griffiths born in 1912 and Michael Griffiths born in 1916. Dr Griffiths was an active supporter of the Deganwy and District Nursing Association, to which Mrs Hylda Griffiths was secretary. Up until 1929 Dr Griffiths was one of the directors of Smiths' Garage Ltd, Deganwy. As the children were growing up the family often spent their summers on Deganwy beach. They also visited Llanrwst, Lake Elsi, Betws, Abersoch and Lledr Valley.

Glan-y-Mor was converted into the Gryphon Cafe after World War Two by Margaret Griffiths. It is now the restaurant, La Paysanne. Margaret Griffiths married and became Margaret Norris. She had two children, Simon Norris born in 1935 and Susan Norris born in 1937. Michael Griffiths was married to Brenda Griffiths and they had a son, Peter Griffiths.

Dr Griffiths is buried at Llanrhos Parish Churchyard.

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.

Related Material

See also CP247 for photographs in this collection.

Medical diaries of Dr G H Griffiths have been deposited with the Wellcome Trust.