Materials acquired in the course of Evelyn Pritchard's research as a local historian of the Richmond area (particularly Ham and Petersham), including research notes, drafts of articles and books written by her, copies of sources including census returns, diaries and books, maps, plans, leaflets, brochures and newspaper cuttings, and correspondence relating to research.
The Evelyn Pritchard Collection
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 358 DC82
- Dates of Creation1975 - 2005
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description4 boxes 1 large folder 3 index card boxes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Evelyn Pritchard (1919-2005) lived in Ham from 1956 until her death. A research scientist in industrial chemistry for many years, she turned to researching the history of Richmond, particularly Ham and Petersham, and authored several books on the history of Ham and Petersham. Her books include 'Ham House and Its Owners Through Four Centuries 1610-2006', a Guide to the Street Names of Ham and Petersham, 'A Portrait of Ham in Early Victorian Times, 1840-1860' and 'The 1841 Emigrants from Ham to New Zealand'.
The Evelyn Pritchard Collection contains one sub-fonds, three series records, and one file record. The sub-fonds, Research Notes, is arranged into six series records:
- DC82/1/1 Box 1 - Research Notes
- DC82/1/2 Millennium Book
- DC82/1/3 Censuses
- DC82/1/4 Ham House
- DC82/1/5 Cassel Hospital
- DC82/1/6 Major Archibald Hook
The three series records are arranged as follows:
- DC82/2 Old Images of Ham and Petersham
- DC82/3 Maps and Plans
- DC82/5 Secondary Research Material
Conditions Governing Access
Some records within this collection are open for access and can be viewed at Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive.
The opening times and address for Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive can be found online at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies
Please note that some records within this collection are closed and not currently available for research. For further information, please contact Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive through any of the contact methods listed at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies
This collection was deposited by Evelyn Pritchard's family shortly after her death. There is no accession record, paperwork or correspondence.
Other Finding Aids
A more detailed catalogue of this collection can be found online at https://richmond.spydus.co.uk/spydus.html
Conditions Governing Use
Copyright applies. Copyright to be determined.
As received, this collection also included the following editions of the journal Richmond History: Number 7, 1986, Number 12, 1991, Number 14, 1993, Number 15, 1994, Number 16, 1995, Number 17, 1996, Number 18, 1997, Number 19, 1998, Number 20, 1999, Number 21, 2000, Number 22, 2001. These were deaccessioned as Local Studies has copies of these journals elsewhere. A photocopy of the Borough of Twickenham Local History Society paper 75, 'The Second Earl of Kilmorey and his Mausoleum in St Margarets', by ACB Unwin, October 1997, was also deaccessioned, as Local Studies holds a copy elsewhere.
'Guide to the street names of Ham and Petersham with the Tudor and Royal Park Gate estates', Evelyn Pritchard, Richmond Local History Society, 2005.
'Ham House and its owners through five centuries, 1610-1948', Evelyn Pritchard, Richmond Local History Society, 1995.
'Ham House and its owners through five centuries, 1610-2006 with a memorial to the author and an appendix covering the National Trust ownership 1948-2006, Evelyn Pritchard, Richmond Local History Society, 2007.
'A Portrait of Ham in Early Victorian Times 1840- 1860', Evelyn Pritchard, 1991.