History of Cardiff Union Workhouse

Scope and Content

Notes on the history of Cardiff Union Workhouse, later St. Davids Hospital comprising of photocopies of documents and printed books on the history of the building; photographs and slides, c1990s

Administrative / Biographical History

The Cardiff Union Workhouse, Cowbridge Road, Canton, was opened in 1839 and almost entirely rebuilt in 1880-1881. In 1930 the running of the workhouse was transferred from the Board of Guardians to the Public Assistance Committee of Cardiff County Council. It became St. David's Hospital under the NHS in 1948. All that remains of the building now is the facade which has been listed. A new hospital has been built on part of the site with the rest being developed for private homes.

Arrangement

Arranged chronologically by record series

Conditions Governing Access

No Restrictions

Acquisition Information

Deposited by Cardiff and Vale NHS Trust, 2004

Other Finding Aids

A detailed catalogue is available

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Annabel Wickham for the ANW Project; Sources used: Glamorgan Record Office finding aids

Conditions Governing Use

Normal Glamorgan Record Office conditions apply

Appraisal Information

All records offered have been accepted and listed

Custodial History

The notes were compiled by a consultant working or Cardiff NHS Trust who was interested in the history of the building

Accruals

Accruals are possible

Related Material

See also UC (Cardiff Poor law Union records)