St Augustine's College Archive

Scope and Content

The collection mainly consists of College administrative records including student records. Also included is information on the history of St Augustine's Abbey and papers relating to the following individuals: Henry Martyn (1781-1812), Missionary in India. Daniel Corrie (1777-1837), Bishop of Madras. Noel Hall, Bishop of Chota Nagpur 1936-1957. Bishop A. M. Knight, College Warden 1909-1928. G. M. Maclear, College Warden 1880-1902. E. A. Kallihura (1832c-1856) student. W. Kemp student 1938.

Administrative / Biographical History

The College was established to train clergymen to work in the colonies of the British Empire. In 1952 the College re-opened as the Central College of the Anglican Communion to train clergy from all over the world. In 1967 such training of students was taken over by King's College, London. In 1992 the buildings were sold to the King's School, Canterbury.

Access Information

For opening hours and to make an appointment please see

Other Finding Aids

Detailed hard copy catalogue is available in the searchroom.

Custodial History

Deposited by the Trustees of the Corporate Body in February 1988. They were previously stored in the basement of the College library.


Nothing more expected.


R. J. E. Boggis, 'A History of St Augustine's Monastery, Canterbury' (Canterbury, 1901). R. J. E. Boggis, 'A History of St Augustine's College, Canterbury' (Canterbury, 1907). Henry Bailey, 'Twenty Five Years of St Augustine's College, Letter to Late Students' (Canterbury, 1873). 'St Augustine's College, Occasional Papers' 1858-1935.