Notebook headed: 'Cost price of timber in scantl[in]g'.
John Urpeth Rastrick notebook
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 96 MS164
- Dates of Creation[?1829]
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 volume (21 pages)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
John Urpeth Rastrick was born at Morpeth in Northumberland on 26 January 1780, the son of John Rastrick, an engineer to whom he became articled in 1795. In about 1801, he was working at the Ketley Iron Works in Shropshire and, in or after 1805, he joined in partnership with John Hazledine (soon succeeded by Robert Hazledine) of Bridgenorth, Shropshire. During this time, Rastrick assisted in the construction of the locomotive 'Catch me who Can' for Richard Trevithick in 1808, and in 1814, he took out a patent for a steam engine and soon started experimenting with steam traction on railways. His first major work was the cast iron road bridge over the Wye at Chepstow (1815-1816). In 1817 Rastrick left that partnership, to join with James Foster, in about 1819, at the iron works which then became known as Foster, Rastrick & Co., at Stourbridge, Worcestershire. His association with railway engineering began in 1822 when he became an engineer for the Stratford and Moreton Railway. Rastrick became an active supporter of railway proposals put before Parliament, an adviser to railway companies, and a designer and builder of locomotives - the 'Agenoria' and 'Stourbridge Lion' for example. He acted as surveyor or engineer to parts of a large number of lines, among them the Liverpool & Manchester (1829 onwards), the Manchester & Cheshire Junction (1835 onwards), and the series of lines later known as the London, Brighton & South Coast Railway (1836 onwards). About 1847, he retired from engineering work, although he continued to occupy himself with railway business, and was active in a number of arbitrations concerning railway disputes. He retired to Sayes Court, Chertsey, Surrey and died on 1 November 1856.
Conditions Governing Access
Open for research. 24 hours notice should be given before a research visit.
Other Finding Aids
T D Rogers, The Rastrick Papers, University of London Library (1968), no 662
Date(s) of descriptions: 1999-10-05 Keith Austin, 2000-01-06 Judith Etherton, 2000-05-25 Sarah Aitchison.
Conditions Governing Use
Copies may be made, subject to the condition of the original. Copying must be undertaken by the Palaeography Room staff, who will need a minimum of 24 hours to process requests.