K.M. Peyton Collection

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Complete typescript drafts of two novels by K.M. Peyton, 'The Edge of the Cloud' (OUP, 1969) and 'A Pattern of Roses' (OUP, 1972), with some research material relating to 'The Edge of the Cloud', and original artwork by K.M. Peyton for eight of her novels, including unpublished illustrations for 'Thunder in the Sky' (OUP, 1966) and 'Flambards' (OUP, 1967) and published artwork for five other titles.

Administrative / Biographical History

Created by K.M. Peyton during the course of her career as a writer.


The collection is arranged as follows:

KP/01 'The Edge of the Cloud'

KP/02 'A Pattern of Roses'

KP/03 Artwork

Conditions Governing Access

Accessible to all researchers, by appointment only.

Appraisal Information

The collection has been appraised, and all duplicate material removed.

Custodial History

The draft material for 'The Edge of the Cloud' and 'A Pattern of Roses' was donated to Seven Stories by the creator in 2006. The original artwork in the collection was donated in 2009.