Records of Madryn Castle Farm School and Glynllifon Agricultural Institute, 1916-1966, comprising account books, 1916-1960; inventories, 1925-1954; and correspondence files, 1941-1966.
Records of Madryn Castle Farm School and Glynllifon Agricultural Institute
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 219 XEC/1
- Dates of Creation1916-1966
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical DescriptionNot provided
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Madryn Castle Farm School, Pwllheli, Caernarfosnhire, was opened in 1913 by Caernarfonshire County Council as a technical school. It corresponded with many farming and technical bodies. It was closed in 1952, and moved to Plas Glynllifon, once the seat of the Newborough family, becoming Glynllifon Agricultural Institute. In 1948, Thomas John Wynn had sold the Glynllifon site to William and David Tudor, timber merchants, who sold it to Caernarfonshire County Council. It became Glynllifon Agricultural College in 1954, and later became Coleg Glynllifon. Following the reorganisation of post-16 education in Meironnydd and Dwyfor in 1993, Coleg Meironnydd and Coleg Glynllifon merged to form Coleg Meiron-Dwyfor.
Arranged into the following: account books; inventories; and correspondence files.
Conditions Governing Access
Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following sources were used to compile this description: Caernarfon Record Office, Catalogue of the Records of Madryn Castle Farm School and Glynllifon Agricultural Institute; Parc Glynllifon (www.gwynedd.gov.uk); Coleg Meirion Dwyfor (www.estyn.gov.uk) viewed 24th September 2004.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available in Caernarfon Record Office, the National Library of Wales and the National Register of Archives. The catalogue is available online.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright laws apply.
All records deposited at Caernarvon Record Office have been retained
Accruals are not expected.