The names of the dead were entered in registers according to the parish where they died, although no one area of the cemetery was set aside for one parish. The appropriate clergyman, minister, priest or rabbi would conduct the service and sign the register and a note was made of the faith of the dead.
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 214 BUBC/1
- Dates of Creation10 Jul 1859- 9 Apr 1951
- Physical Description31 volumes
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The dead who are recorded in the registers were buried in one cemetery, opened in 1859, following the Cemeteries Clauses Act of 1847 (10-11v c.65). This Act allowed land to be purchased for the purpose of making a cemetery, in order to reduce the number of burials in urban churchyards and burial grounds. The cemetery was administered by the town council who formed the Burial Board. The Cardiff cemetery was then situated about 1½ miles from the town centre in Cathays.
Arranged by parish